Support BookHounds

Review BLACKBIRD by ANNA CAREY @AnnaCareyBooks

I received this book at no cost from the publisher or author.

Review BLACKBIRD by ANNA CAREY @AnnaCareyBooksBlackbird by Anna Carey
Published by Harper Collins on September 16th 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, General, Miscellaneous, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Sports & Recreation, Young Adult
Pages: 256
Format: ARC
Goodreads
five-stars

From the author of the Eve trilogy comes the breathless story of a girl racing to figure out who she is—and how to stay alive. When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only one thing for sure: people want her dead. Can she find them before they track her down? This pulse-pounding contemporary thriller is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner, The Darkest Minds, and Legend.Things I Know Are True: I am in Los Angeles I woke up on the train tracks at the Vermont/Sunset station I am a teenage girl I have long black hair I have a bird tattoo on the inside of my right wrist with the letters and numbers FNV02198 People are trying to kill me

When “Sunny” wakes up on railroad tracks in Los Angeles’ Grand Central Station, she doesn’t know who she is or why she is there.  She just knows she needs to run and finds that a woman is trying to kill her and a man is following her.  After escaping into a local shop, she runs right into a guy who gives her a ride out of the area.   As she further explores a backpack that she found next to her by the rails, she comes across notes which she hopes will help figure out the mysterious tattoo on her wrist.  The notebook also contains a telephone number and a quarter, so when she calls the number she gets a bit more information and sets off to find out who did this to her and to get her memory back.

 

From the first page, this is an intense story full of heart-stopping action and a bit of romance and the fact that it is written in second person just adds to the charm.  After deciding she need a name, she picks “Sunny” since it seems the exact opposite of what she is.  This story is full of snark and intense moments with a bit of light heartedness to break up what could have been a real downer.  The supporting characters are just as strong and I hope to see more of them in the next installment.

five-stars