Support BookHounds

#Giveaway Review SILVER IN THE BLOOD by JESSICA DAY GEORGE @JessDayGeorge

#Giveaway Review SILVER IN THE BLOOD by JESSICA DAY GEORGE @JessDayGeorge

I received this book at no cost from the publisher or author.

#Giveaway Review SILVER IN THE BLOOD by JESSICA DAY GEORGE @JessDayGeorgeSilver in the Blood by Jessica Day George
ISBN: 9781619634312
Published by Bloomsbury USA on July 7th 2015
Genres: Europe, Fantasy & Magic, Historical, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Goodreads
four-stars

A New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.
Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.
With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.

 

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks, Goodreads

 

silver in the blood authorAbout Jessica: 

Jessica Day George earned a BA in Humanities/Comparative Literature from Brigham Young University, where she enjoyed classes in Pottery and Old Norse, and dutifully forced herself to take Algebra and Biology. Originally from Idaho, she now resides in Salt Lake City, Utah, with her husband and three young children.
Where you can fine Jessica:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

 

 

 

MY THOUGHTS

In this new spin on the Dracula tale, Dacia and Maria Lousia (AKA “Lou”) are cousins with a family history in Romania.  When the girls turn seventeen they are sent to Europe, far from their socialite, shopping lives in New York.  Stopping in London, Dacia’s head is turned by Lord Johnny Hardcastle but with her mother expecting and her aunt Kate along, she stays with them as Lou travels with her family. The pair try to uncover the family relationship between the Dracula and Florescu families as well as the mysterious things known as Claw, Smoke and Wing are.  The heir to the Dracula family has eyes for Dacia and only when the girls find out the truth about their family do things start to make sense.

Overall, this is a fun take on Dracula but with shapeshifters in the mix and the girls must decide whether they should fight their family or go along with them.  The story does take awhile to build and it is told through notes and letters as well as conversations.  I enjoyed the settings and the characters but was frustrated at times with how long it took to get there.  If you enjoy retellings, then you will like this new take on Dracula.  There is an opening for another book in the series.

 

Giveaway Details:

2 winners will receive a finished copy of SILVER IN THE BLOOD. US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

four-stars

Comments

  1. Blythe j says

    With such an interesting history, its a shame they didn’t want to know more sooner! This book sounds like it would be an incredible read!

  2. tracee says

    I like retellings that are done well. Unfortunately, not all of them are. Its nice to read a review first (such as this one) to give me an idea if its worth my time. Thanks!

  3. says

    This sounds like a lot of fun and the cover is just incredible! Admittedly, reading books that are done in the style of correspondence is a little trying for me, but I may have to give this one a shot. I love that it’s female-centric, and a good retelling or reinterpretation can be a beautiful thing!

  4. Emily Crowell says

    When I was a middle schooler, some of my favorite books were Princess of the Midnight Ball series and Dragon Flight, and I’m so excited to get to read more of her writing. Can’t wait to get my hands on this gorgeous book!