Support BookHounds

#Review Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff @brennayovanoff @DelacortePress

I received this book at no cost from the publisher or author.

#Review Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff  @brennayovanoff @DelacortePressPlaces No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff
ISBN: 0553522639
Published by Delacorte Press on May 17th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Fantasy, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Goodreads
four-stars

For fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart, here is a dreamy love story set in the dark halls of contemporary high school, from New York Times bestselling author Brenna Yovanoff.
Waverly Camdenmar spends her nights running until she can’t even think. Then the sun comes up, life goes on, and Waverly goes back to her perfectly hateful best friend, her perfectly dull classes, and the tiny, nagging suspicion that there’s more to life than student council and GPAs.
Marshall Holt is a loser. He drinks on school nights and gets stoned in the park. He is at risk of not graduating, he does not care, he is no one. He is not even close to being in Waverly’s world.
But then one night Waverly falls asleep and dreams herself into Marshall’s bedroom—and when the sun comes up, nothing in her life can ever be the same. In Waverly’s dreams, the rules have changed. But in her days, she’ll have to decide if it’s worth losing everything for a boy who barely exists.

review

My Thoughts

 

Waverly is a overacheiver to the point where she can’t sleep, so she runs instead.  While at school, she works her extra period in the counseling office where she comes into contact with Marshall, a guy that is a underacheiver.  Marshall’s home life is horrible and once he meets Waverly, she invades his thoughts and dream, literally.  This is the one time that I feel safe using that word.

This is a quiet, little paranormal romance that is probably one of the strangest books I have read in a long time.  Waverly has the ability to travel in her dreams and the ending will probably not surprise you.  The writing does draw you in a sort of dreamy way.  It lulls you into believing that this is just a typical teen romance, but like Yovanoff’s other work, it always has an ulterior motive in the paranormal.  It did remind me of a Romeo and Juliet story with lovers from different social worlds being united.

 

About the Author

Brenna Yovanoff is the New York Times bestselling author of The Replacement, The Space Between, Paper Valentine, and Fiendish. She lives in Denver with her husband. To learn more about Brenna and her books, visit her online at brennayovanoff.com and follow @brennayovanoff on Twitter.
four-stars