Support BookHounds

#Giveaway Review 10 THINGS I CAN SEE FROM HERE by Carrie Mac @CarrieMacWrites @RandomHouseKids 3.23

I received this book at no cost from the publisher or author.

10 Things I Can See from Here by Carrie Mac
ISBN: 0399556257
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers on February 28th 2017
Genres: Coming of Age, Contemporary, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars

Perfect for fans of Finding Audrey and Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.

Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.

Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?

Book Links

 Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | IndieBound | Goodreads


I live with my partner and two children in East Van, overlooking the shipyards and with a great view of the crows flying home to roost.

Or:

When Carrie Mac was born, her right eye gawked off in one direction while her left eye looked the other way. Well-meaning adults thought she was a changeling and so they wrapped her up and put her on the porch for the fairies to take back, please and thank you. It was snowing. It was dark. No fairies came. The same well-meaning adults decided she’d catch her death out there. So they brought her in and kept her after all.

She’s read millions of books and has sat happily at the feat of a legion of storytellers. She is equally fascinated by disaster and grace. car wrecks, hurricanes, plagues, and genocides on the one hand, small and stunning everyday miracles on the other. She sometimes wishes she were a pirate. She’d often wished she’d run away and joined the circus when she had the chance. She spends a great deal of time in the company of her imagination, and when she isn’t, she’s wide-eyed and awed by this planet and the people running amok all over it.

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

MY THOUGHTS

Maeve is now stuck with her somewhat  sober father, her pregnant step-mother, and twins since her mother is working in Haiti. Since Maeve has an anxiety disorder, the chaos is not something she is equipped to easily deal with.  What is different in this case, is that the family, especially the step-mom, is actually quite supportive of her issues.  Maeve tends to overthink and has a few OCD tendencies with her obsession of death and anxiety statistics.  When she has a cute meet with a street musician, her anxiety decreases.  Maybe her meeting a person who accepts her for who she is, turns her thinking around a bit.

Even without her normal safety net of her therapist and her mother, the new neighborhood shows her amazing support. I loved how Maeve could see beyond herself and how her illness impacts others.  This story touches on why Maeve’s anxiety is one that most teens can relate to in new relationships.  The author does an amazing job at how Maeve and her family come to terms with her sexuality.  I just hope that more books like this are written to support these kids.  There are a few uncomfortable parts but overall, a good read.

 

 

Want to win a copy? 

 

(1) Winner – Copy of 10 Things I Can See From Here

Provided by Publisher

Giveaway Ends 3.23.17 and open to all who can legally enter.
Open to residents of the US
Must be over 18 or have your parents permission to enter.
An email will be sent and you have 48 hours to reply or a new winner will be chosen.
The Winner will be announced within 48 hours at the end of the giveaway.
Giveaway is organized by Bookhounds and sponsored by the Publisher (email Bookhounds@hotmail to verify if you won!)
It has no affiliation with Facebook, Twitter or any other entity.
Void where prohibited.
Not Responsible for lost, stolen or misdirected prizes.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

follow the tour:

February 20 – Butter My Books
February 21 – The Compulsive Reader
February 22 – Take Me Away to A Great Read
February 23 – The Mod Podge Bookshelf
February 24 – Bookhounds YA
February 27thNick and Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist
Adventures in YA Publishing
February 28thRamblings of the Perpetual New Girl
March 1stIn Wonderland
March 2ndYA Wednesdays
March 3rdHere’s to Happy Endings
March 4th: Adventures in YA Publishing
March 6thNo More Grumpy Bookseller
March 7thA Midsummer Night’s Read
March 8thRainy Day Coffee and Books
March 9thThe Fandom
March 10thPicture Books to YA and Everything in Be”Tween”
March 13thBookworm Everlasting
March 14thThe Moral of Our Stories
March 15- Fangirlish
March 16- The Young Folks
March 17- Fiktshun
March 20-YA Books Central
March 21- Xpresso Reads
March 22- A Dream Within A Dream

four-stars

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge